Brackenridge, PA 724-295-2400

The following are actual vendor reviews or selected comments from our clients.

10/20/17 REVIEW ON THE KNOT:  Denny is great! He and his staff are super flexible and worked closely with us to build the perfect menu! He was also a straight shooter and didn’t try to up sell us on anything. He actually helped us find ways to save money which I thought was really genuine! He was also just a super sweet guy in general. The food was INCREDIBLE- our guests were raving about it all night. They had all of our delicious leftovers packed up for us with sweet notes! I would pick them over and over again!!! (10/8/16 wedding @ Soldiers & Sailors)

10/19/17 REVIEW ON WEDDING WIRE:  I would choose Chef and I Catering over and over again. The service was outstanding and the food.. AMAZING! I can’t say enough great things about them. Highly recommend!  Victoria T (5/13/17 wedding @ Laube hall)

10/18/17 REVIEW ON THE KNOT:   Highly recommend the chef and I. Wonderful to work with, they paid close attention to detail, and AMAZING food.  Casey (5/6/17 wedding @ Laube hall)

10/16/17 REVIEW ON THE KNOT: Denny and his crew were amazing! We had our wedding and reception at Soldiers and sailors, And they were great to work with. Our decor was complicated and I was concerned they wouldn’t have time to flip our venue, and within 15 minutes of our ceremony ending, I walked up to the balcony and saw our reception space come to life. I am so grateful to have Chef &I part of our special day. thanks everyone!  (12/10/17 wedding @ Soldiers & Sailors)

10/11/17  Denny,  Everything was absolutely perfect! Everyone enjoyed all of the food!   Thank you so much for everything!  – Steve and Emily (8/19/17 Wedding @ Laube Hall)

6/15/17  On behalf of Vicki, we were quite happy with everything and all went well.   We appreciate your efforts and will keep you in mind for future events.   There was plenty of food and lots leftover!  Thank you,  Allison (5/21/17 Church dinner)

6/5/17 REVIEW ON THE KNOT:  My wife and I had The Chef & I’s food at another friends wedding and when we were engaged, we agreed to contact them immediately. Denny, Vikki, Chef Ray and everyone we worked with were awesome. The guests commented about how much they loved the food and the entire process was so smooth. They cannot be more highly recommended!  (4/29/17 Wedding @ Springdale Veterans)

5/30/17 Everything was amazing Denny and you were right I had plenty!!!  Thank you!  Mary (5/28/17 Graduation party)

5/27/17 Hi Denny,  Everything was absolutely amazing.  You, Vikki and the entire staff were so helpful and kind throughout the entire process of planning for this special day.  The food was perfect.  A lot of compliments from our guests.  All of the attention to detail that you and Vikki took care of really made this process less stressful.  I so appreciated that.  Thank you so much for everything.  I will pass these links to Casey to send review.  She is much better at that than I am.  Good luck with the weddings to come and thank you again.  Marie (5/6/17  Wedding  @ Laube Hall)

5/21/17 Dear Denny, Just wanted to let you know that it was a pleasure working with you for both Pittsburgh Oratory events this year.  Vicki is excellent, your staff is extremely professional, and you enabled St. Nicholas to present very well.  The set up, event, and clean up were very, very smooth.  Sincere thanks for what was a great experience for us. All my best,  Stacie (5/20/17 Ordination @ St. Nick’s)

5/12/17 Hi Denny,  Thank you very much for the great service and food. The room was set up very nicely and we got a lot of compliments on the food. I especially liked the hummus with red pepper and the pita bread. Vikki and her team were very pleasant to work with.  Several attendees asked for cards. Everyone had nothing but praise for the food.  The meats were tender and the veggies had a great texture. Thanks very much again!  Beth & Suzanne (5/9/17 Annual Dinner/Meeting @ Soldiers & Sailors)

5/12/17 Hi! Yes everything was great! A lot of people asked who did our catering because everything was very good. And we had plenty of everything ! Thanks so much.  We will definitely be calling again when we have an event.  Sue (4/29/17  Bridal Shower).

5/8/17 Hi there! The food was fabulous! I will say that I personally preferred the chicken from last year better, just the seasoning. The chicken was delicious and perfectly cooked. Your pasta with fresh tomatoes and basil tastes like a little piece of Tuscan heaven, it is my favorite. We still had a ton left over this year. An entire pan of pasta and a little over half a pan of the green beans and potatoes. Your portions are very generous. I can’t thank you enough! We will be calling you for every event in the future. Thank you so much! Anna (4/8/17 Purse Bash @ Evangel Heights)

4/18/17 Denny,  Everything was great last night. Thanks so much.  Colin (4/17/17 Athletic Awards @ Soldiers & Sailors)

4/9/17 Thank you so much! The food was delicious 🙂 Teryn (4/9/17 Bridal Shower @ Laube Hall)

4/3/17 REVIEW ON THE KNOT: Denny, Vikki, & Chef Rey were amazing! They were so organized from the start, and delivered exactly our vision! The station-style service went off without a hitch. Our guests were raving about the food. The Chef & I staff were there all night to ensure everything went smoothly, and Vikki stayed after to clean up! She seriously is the best!! She was there for days ahead setting up our linen, and everything was perfect. I would recommend them to EVERYONE!!!! (3/25/17 Wedding @ Soldiers & Sailors)

3/22/17 Hi Denny,  I want to thank you and your staff for the wonderful job everyone did at the banquet last night.  The food and service were excellent!!!!  Thank you again!  Sharon (3/21/17 Awards Mixer @ Soldiers & Sailors)

1/29/17 REVIEW ON THE KNOT: The Chef & I was truly wonderful to work with! My husband and I were very impressed with Denny and his staff even from our initial communications and first meeting. On the day of our tasting, the roads were pretty snowy. Denny offered to come meet us in downtown Freeport and he would give us a ride to their property. We were able to make it there on our own, but truly appreciated the offer! When we arrived we were taken into a private room and we met Denny and Vikki. They spent over an hour with us: giving us generous portions of food to taste; showing us photographs of their works and set-up at other wedding receptions; showing us linen and flatware options; going over a very tentative timeline and contract. We really felt like they wanted to get to know us and make everything fit our needs and wants. We had gone to other caterer meetings where there 3 or 4 couples trying food at the same time and we certainly weren’t given the personal attention that we were given at the Chef & I. Denny helped us to come up with a tasty menu that fit our fall/barn-themed wedding. Our guests really loved the food! The tables were set-up beautifully. Our guests also really enjoyed the coffee station that we had. We would definitely recommend the Chef & I!! (10/1/16 Wedding @ Armstrong Farms)

1/17/17 It was very good. Most of the guests thought the food was fantastic. It was very convenient with the set up and return of the heating racks. (1/7/17 Birthday/Christmas Party in Freeport)

12/20/16 Hi Kimberly, Thank you for checking in! Everything was wonderful! Leading up to the day I was extremely happy with my conversations with Denny and Vikki. Even when I had a last minute change that I was sure would annoy Denny, he was extremely understanding and seemed not to mind at all. The night of, from my eyes, everything ran perfectly. Vikki came to me personally early in the reception and then again at the end to make sure everything was going well. My food tasted just as good as I remembered it from our tasting, and I heard several other good comments about the food from our guests.  If there was anything that did not go well with the catering, I didn’t notice and nobody in my family heard about it. Thank you all for doing such a wonderful job, and thank you for checking back in this morning! Merry Christmas! Kari (11/26/16 Wedding @ Soldiers & Sailors)

12/13/16 Hi Kimberly, As I’m sure you know, bride and grooms don’t seem to get a whole lot of time to actually sit down and enjoy their meal. But the food I did get to taste was amazing and we heard all positive feedback from the guests. Everyone said how tender and delicious the meat was. Everything went off perfectly that night. I loved how we got our apps and meals plated to our table and didn’t have to go through the buffet line. We received nothing but positive feedback and if we ever need a caterer again we will be sure to contact you and recommend you! 😊 thanks again for everything! Danielle (11/12/16 Wedding @ Laube Hall)

12/1/16 Hello Kimberly! Thanks for reaching out!  You did not hear incorrectly. Our guests absolutely loved the food, as did we! The two primary compliments we received all night were how awesome we looked and how much they enjoyed the food! haha! By far, my favorite item was the scalloped potatoes. I think I could have eaten the whole pan! We took home a fair share of leftovers (which we are still eating) but everything is still SO good. I also thought you all did a wonderful job displaying the cookies and appetizers. The displays were just beautiful! Chef Ray is one of a kind, especially with those meatball appetizers. We could not get enough of those in the bridal suite!  I also really liked the look of the room. I know we had a discussion regarding the table cloths on the larger rectangular tables, but they looked awesome along with the rest of the tables. Thank you so much for working with us and our budget to accommodate that. We have absolutely nothing negative to remark from our experience with The Chef and I. If I had the opportunity to do it all over again (with the same groom, hehe) I would still choose you guys! You rock! Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts for being a huge part of our wedding day, and making it absolutely perfect. (11/5/16 Wedding @ Soldiers & Sailors)

11/23/16 Thank you so much for the wonderful food and services for our wedding at Laube Hall on June 18th.  We really appreciate all the help we received before and during our event. Everyone we spoke to said they absolutely loved the food, and the staff was wonderful!  Everything went perfectly and we owe it to you!  You guys are the best! Thank you for everything, Derek & Elyssia (6/18/16 Wedding @ Laube Hall)

11/11/16 Hi Kimberly, Sorry that it took me a while to respond to your email. Things are finally beginning to settle down for us. We were very pleased with everything at our reception. The food was great, the servers were attentive and professional, and everything seemed to run very smoothly on the day of the wedding. Our families and guests were pleased as well. We were so pleased with the entire process, from our initial meeting where we felt like you wanted to spend time with us and get to know us to sending this follow-up email. All of the communications that we had were timely and professional.  Thank you to you and the entire staff at Chef & I Catering for helping to make our day so wonderful. We will certainly recommend your services in the future! 🙂 (10/1/16 Wedding @ Armstrong Farms)

11/7/16 Hi.  Things are finally back to normal around here.  It’s pretty weird to have all of this free time now!!  Matt and I couldn’t have been any happier with how everything turned out.   I’ve had so many compliments on how great the food tasted.  I will definitely recommend the Chef and I to anyone looking for catering services.  Thank you again so much for everything you did to make our day great!! Denice and Matt (10/1/16 Wedding @ Springdale Veterans)

11/4/16 REVIEW ON WEDDING WIRE: When I was viewing a venue, I saw staff from Chef & I setting up for a wedding that day. I found a business card on one of the tables, and gave them a call a few days later. From there, Denny and his team went above and beyond to make sure that my wedding day went without a hitch! I chose buffet style for the wedding, and the food was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend the sweet & sour meatballs for the cocktail hour – I think one of my groomsmen ate an entire bowl of them! Chef & I Catering made sure that the head table was treated like royalty – We came in and had food from the cock tail hour waiting for us, champagne for toasting, and we were serviced by the wait staff. I was very happy with the service of the wait staff on the day of the wedding. Denny kept in contact and made sure that we had every detail mapped out and that every question was answered. I was so grateful to have a vendor who was on top of communication! If I ever need a catering service again, I will definitely be using Chef & I! (10/22/16 Wedding at Laube Hall)

11/1/16 REVIEW ON WEDDING WIRE: Where to start…the food was delicious and the service was impeccable. They were always there to help us (bride & groom) to get food and ensuring we had the chance to eat. We went with the station option and my only complaint was I thought the food was taken away too soon. We had a lot of compliments on food. Denny was also amazingly flexible when it came time for payment as my parents (who were paying) were in the midst of a hurricane the week prior to our wedding. He was so understanding of the circumstances (lack of mail service). It was one less thing to worry about. And if you go with the station option – the pierogies are a must! Simply amazing. (10/15/16 Wedding at Soldiers & Sailors)